top of page

Minety vs Frome II 4/12/21

Minety 3 - 8 Frome II

Minety hosted Frome 2s in a top of the table Dorset and Wilts 1 North league match on Saturday 4th December 2021. The match was played on Minetys 2nd team pitch and the weather was dry and bright, good conditions for rugby. Minety, led by Kieran Tillotsen in the absence on club captain Ben Scott, won the toss and decided to attack up hill in the 1st half. The 1st ten minutes saw some concerted Minety pressure and following some strong driving runs from Hugo Beanfield, Tom Claxton and Andrew Hibbard, space was created on the left wing. One more forward drive, however, saw the referee award a penalty to Frome and allowed them to clear their lines. Frome, having gained some possession, launched some strong forward drives. Strong defence stopped them short of the try line several times, but an injury to center Jack Howse and several penalties against Minety eventually saw an away try in the left corner, which was unconverted. Score 0-5. The remainder of the half saw similar play, periods of Frome pressure and solid Minety defense. Eventually Minety made their way uphill towards the Frome try line and despite a season ending shoulder injury to scrumhalf Mark Glew, a penalty was awarded to Minety in front of the Frome posts following a strong run by Hamish Brook. This was kicked by Kieran James. Half time score Minety 3-5 Frome 2.

The second half kicked off with Minety attacking down the slope, and hopes were high that Minety would make use of what is traditionally seen as a 3 try advantage. Frome were very physical and well organised in defense and despite having most of the possession Minety were unable to score. The only points of the half were scored when the referee awarded Frome a penalty during a rare visit to the Minety 22 which was kicked. Final score Minety 3 – 8 Frome 2s

Minety team

1.Hugo Beanland 2. Tom Claxton 3.Andy Darrall 4. Keir Hamilton 5. Matt Chisholm 6. Dylan Daybell 7. Kieran Tillotsen 8. Andrew Hibbard 9. Mark Glew 10. Kieran James 11. Chris Rule 12. Hamish Brook 13. Jack Howse 14. Will Seaton 15. Charlie Webb 16. Ryan Walker 17. Shaun Tillotsen 18. Bram Coleman 19. Ben Scott 20. Tom Waldron


bottom of page